The vision

How does an idea turn into a museum for everyone?

Since founding his companies in the 1970s, businessman Reinhard Ernst has been collecting abstract art. On his business trips in Europe, Asia and the United States, his interest in paintings and sculpture grew.

Reinhard Ernst before Loom (1959) by Morris Louis © Maryland College Institute of Art / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019, Bernd Fickert

“I did hardly any foreign trip without visiting a museum.”

Reinhard Ernst


Over the years, Ernst compiled an extensive, important collection of several hundred works. For quite some time, the businessman who lives in Wiesbaden had a desire to make his art accessible to the public. This gave rise to the idea of a museum for abstract art, which would exhibit works from his Reinhard Ernst Collection as well as loaned pieces from other museums.

From this vision a specific plan was produced. In 2016, the Reinhard & Sonja Ernst Foundation submitted a proposal to the city of Wiesbaden to build and operate a museum at its own expense. This proposal was adopted following a public participation procedure and cross-party approval of the municipal authorities and the city council. The architectural advisory board, which advises the city as an independent expert committee on development issues, also gave its full consent to the draft design submitted by the museum’s architect.

The architect’s hand sketches
An earlier model of the museum building
Fumihiko Maki at the presentation of his designs at Wiesbaden City Hall

The property at Wilhelmstrasse 1 was provided to the Reinhard & Sonja Ernst Foundation based on a 99-year lease. For this period, the foundation will be in charge of maintaining services and running exhibitions.

As an internationally appealing address for abstract art, a central rendezvous with a café, a children’s area, a museum shop and an events hall, the museum’s intention is to enrich the state capital of Wiesbaden. As such, a passionate collector’s vision will create a house of culture for everyone in the year 2022.

We will provide regular reports on this website about the museum project’s ongoing development.

Die Vision

Wie wird aus einer Idee ein Museum für alle?

Seit dem Aufbau seiner Firmen in den siebziger Jahren sammelt der Unternehmer Reinhard Ernst abstrakte Kunst. Auf seinen Geschäftsreisen in Europa, Asien und in den USA wuchs sein Interesse für Gemälde und Skulpturen.

Reinhard Ernst vor Loom (1959) von Morris Louis. © Maryland College Institute of Art / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019, Bernd Fickert

„Es gab kaum eine Auslandsreise ohne einen Museumsbesuch.“

Reinhard Ernst


Im Laufe der Jahre trug Ernst eine umfangreiche, bedeutende Sammlung mit mehreren hundert Werken zusammen. Schon lange hatte der in Wiesbaden lebende Geschäftsmann den Wunsch, seine Kunst der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. So wurde die Idee eines Museums für abstrakte Kunst geboren, das neben Stücken aus seiner „Sammlung Reinhard Ernst“ auch Leihgaben anderer Museen ausstellen soll.

Aus der Vision entstand ein konkreter Plan: Im Jahr 2016 schlug die Reinhard & Sonja Ernst-Stiftung der Stadt Wiesbaden vor, ein Museum auf eigene Kosten zu bauen und zu betreiben. Dieser Vorschlag wurde nach einem Bürgerbeteiligungsverfahren und der parteiübergreifenden Zustimmung von Magistrat und Stadtverordnetenversammlung angenommen. Auch beim Gestaltungsbeirat, der die Stadt als unabhängiges Sachverständigengremium in Entwicklungsfragen berät, stieß der vorgelegte Entwurf des Museumsarchitekten auf uneingeschränkte Zustimmung.

Handskizze des Architekten
Ein frühes Modell des Museumsgebäudes
Fumihiko Maki bei der Präsentation seiner Entwürfe im Rathaus Wiesbaden

Mit einem auf 99 Jahre angelegten Erbpachtvertrag wurde der Reinhard & Sonja Ernst-Stiftung das Grundstück Wilhelmstraße 1 zur Verfügung gestellt. Für diese Laufzeit sichert die Stiftung den Unterhalt und Ausstellungsbetrieb.

Als international attraktive Adresse für abstrakte Kunst, als zentraler Anlaufpunkt mit Café, einem Bereich für Kinder, Museumsshop und Veranstaltungssaal soll das Museum die Landeshauptstadt Wiesbaden bereichern. So entsteht aus der Vision eines leidenschaftlichen Sammlers im Jahr 2022 ein Kulturhaus für alle.

Ab März 2019 werden wir auf dieser Website regelmäßig über die weiteren Entwicklungen zum Museumsprojekt informieren.


Die Stadt Wiesbaden hat im August 2018 eine Broschüre zum Museumsprojekt veröffentlicht. Sie steht auf der Website der Stadt zum Download zur Verfügung: PDF, 2.6 MB